Kane, De Gea snubbed in 2017 UEFA Team of the Year

Danehouse  Getty Images

Danehouse Getty Images

Tottenham striker and 2017's top goalscorer Harry Kane has missed out on a place in the UEFA Team of the Year, with Kevin de Bruyne and Eden Hazard the only Premier League representatives.

As in previous years, Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi grabbed the two forward spots to round out the fantasy team.

Real Madrid defender Sergio Ramos received the most votes with 588k and is joined in the team by fellow Real team-mates Marcelo, Toni Kroos and Luka Modric.

The team is voted for by fans with nearly nine million votes cast and lines up in a 4-4-2 formation.

Manchester City's De Bruyne and Chelsea's Hazard are the first Premier League players in the team since 2014 when Angel Di Maria was included while playing for Manchester United.

Even though Cristiano was awarded the Ballon d'Or and the best Federation Internationale de Football Association men's award back in December.

Cristiano Ronaldo made his 12 appearance in the team, alongside five other Real Madrid players.

UEFA on Thursday announced its 2017 Team of the Year.

In terms of players under the age of 23, Joshua Kimmich, Marco Asensio, Dele Alli, Kylian Mbappe, Saul Niguez, Benjamin Mendy and Davinson Sanchez were named respectively.

Click through the gallery above to see UEFA's 2017 Team of the Year.

Let us know in the comments.

Teens Who Vape Likely to Try Cigarettes, Study Finds
LeT terrorist suspected for 2000 Red Fort terror attack arrested